New Period Film: Madame Bovary (2015)

I absolutely CAN’T wait to watch this! I read Gustave Flaubert’s Madame Bovary several years ago and fell head over heels in love with it.

Set in Normandy, France, Madame Bovary is Gustave Flaubert’s classic story of Emma Bovary (Mia Wasikowska), a young beauty who impulsively marries small-town doctor, Charles Bovary (Henry Lloyd-Hughes), to leave her father’s pig farm far behind. But after being introduced to the glamorous world of high society, she soon becomes bored with her stodgy husband and mundane life, and seeks prestige and excitement outside the bonds of marriage. –Apple Trailers

 

253043-1

 

Click Here For More Period Dramas/Films

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “New Period Film: Madame Bovary (2015)

  1. Looks like it could be a very pretty adaptation–will have to check it out!

    Like

  2. Bookworm

    Thanks for this one!

    Mel

    Like

  3. I’ve watch the 2000 TV mini-series. I like it but since I haven’t read the book I don’t know how faithful it was and am definitely looking forward to this new feature film which probably has a bigger budget. There was a French film too in the 90’s though I haven’t seen it.

    Like

    • Thanks for dropping by! I was eying the 2000 TV miniseries for quite but somehow never got to it. I find that miniseries tend to be more faithful to the books than film adaptations (since they have more time to develop the story). I’m excited for this film, though. I agree, it does seem to have a bigger budget, especially seeing as Mia Wasikowska is in it!

      Like

  4. Wasn’t Mia in an adaptation of Jane Eyre recently? I could be confusing her with someone else, but she looks so familiar. This looks like a wonderful one. I ❤ period dramas so much!

    Like

    • Yes! She was in Jane Eyre. And now another period drama….AND also in CRIMSON PEAK–another period drama set in the late 19th century–which I think is still in the making. Not sure. I wonder why she’s choosing to star in so many period movies?

      I love period dramas too!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

