Austen rolls in her grave…

I’m currently M.I.A in the blogsphere and will be catching up on all the other blog articles I’ve missed soon ❤ But I just wanted drop-by and quickly share with everyone, especially the Austenites, these videos….

I remember that P&P&Z was one of the reading requirements for my Jane Austen seminar. Our class (an all-female class, mind you. There was one guy at the beginning of the course who sat alone at the far corner of the room. He dropped out the next week) was outraged. The concept of this book itself is pretty brilliant. But, as my friend said, it’s a downward spiral from paragraph one.

What could be the meaning of this? Why are people unable to leave Jane Austen alone? Not that I’m insulted. But why Austen?

26 Comments

Filed under Book & Film, Regency era

26 responses to “Austen rolls in her grave…

  1. I totally agree with you. I can’t bear this kind of manipulation which totally opposes Jane Austen’s very own taste. She mocked gothic novels! And as you said, she may be rolling in her grave … but maybe she’s rolling and laughing at the same time at how little some so- called Austenite know her!
    However, I think, we must respect those who like this stuff.
    “De gustibus non disputandum est”. 🙂

    Like

  2. Forgot to say, I love reading Austen- based fiction when it respects the wit, the language and the world of JA!

    Like

  3. Loo

    Why, why do they do that? Why can’t they leave Jane alone? I hate what they are doing with her!

    Like

  4. they’ve..mauled…a lot of them:

    P&P&Z
    P&P&Z: DD
    Sense and Sensibilities and Sea Monsters
    Little Vampire Women
    Jane Slayre
    Mansfield Park and Mummies: Monster Mayhem, Matrimony, Ancient Curses, True Love, and Other Dire Delights
    Android Karenina

    >_<

    Like

    • Wow….. I guess it’s “in” these days to screw around with the classics. It’s a funny idea and all. But trying to read the book gets boring. Because we read classics for the sake of feeding our mind. When vampires and mummies are shoved into the story—it just ruins the whole book, imo, because writing in classical books just don’t go well with the twists

      Like

  5. iz4blue

    It targets a certain audience for sure and one can hope it will turn them on the original. I only attempted to read P&P&Z and thought it hilarious!! I am by no means a JA expert but feel she would be rolling from laughter in her grave!

    Like

  6. Lua

    Argh! I really don’t like P&P&Z! I just want to say to those people, please oh please go create something on your own, be original and leave Austen alone!

    Like

    • Same here :/ I was actually excited to read this book, but it gets boring, because the beauty in P&P is defeated by the zombie aspect shoved into it. And then zombies are shoved into every page of the book that it becomes boring

      Like

  7. JA kind of set herself up for the mocking of Gothic lit. with Northanger Abbey. So now, she has authors mocking her mocking Gothic, or something like that.

    The Fight Club one is a little odd, but it def. has a postmodern/feminist/racial schtick going on that would be fun to analyze.

    Like

  8. Ugh. I don’t understand the Zombified-Austen stuff. I haven’t tried to read it and don’t respect it – for all the reasons stated above. (No offense to those who do like it! I just don’t understand why people are drawn to a butchered classic.)

    Like

    • Butchered classics are brilliant in the concept alone. But, the thing is…classics are great to read mainly because of the intellectual asspects/moral aspects presented through its story. To butcher it defeats the very joy of why we read such a book. So what I don’t get is what others find so entertaining about the book if they hadn’t managed to get through the original version in the first place

      Like

  9. I don’t feel strongly about this stuff. I do feel fatigued by it. PP&Z was entertaining for a couple of pages, but that sort of humour seems thoroughly unsustainable over the course of a book. So I do wonder if anyone bought that book non-ironically.

    Like

  10. iz4blue

    Oh no i would never buy it for sure. I am a fervent library user, I just found the twist fascinating. I actually have the audio version but better things came my way. Hence it’s on the list of things to be read/listened to. And the fighting club gives the women in the story more power versus in the classic having only embroidering to do or sporting for a husband. Really I think it’s more power to Jane Austen!! Hadn’t seen those
    clips, thanks. I should also note this book is more fun listening too rather than reading. Because the context of a classic British accent going on about zombies carries a different weight than reading about it. But honestly you
    are not the audience it’s for the teen crowd out there who don’t get what all the JA fuss is about. Who have difficulty with a character driven story, in a language they can’t relate to or where there is very little plot and not much happens. And just to be sure I am not the horror zombie kind, it’s the P&P part that is intriguing me. So now I will have to finish it.

    Like

    • I think it would be *definately* be more interesting to listen to the audio version. As for the Austen Fight Club, it does indeed give a feminine twist to it.

      I agree with you that I’m not the target audience for P&P&Z. But even for those teens its target towards….the language is pretty much as flowery and difficult to get into even though Graham (sp?) intercepted and incorpoarted his own batch of writing. BUT if the teens can get past that, I do see your point, that it becomes a more plot-driven story rather than a character-driven story, and thus becomes more to the style of storytelling they might be accustomed to/enjoy.

      Like

  11. I love zombies and I love Jane Austen, but I`m a bit reluctant about reading a mix of the two. I just can`t see how they can even fit together.

    But I`m trying not to make any judgments until I read the book.

    Like

  12. “Argh! Ugh!!” That’s all the articulation I seem to be capable of after watching the videos.

    Like

  13. It’s ok. You can be insulted. I am.

    Like

  14. Somebody told me just last week that I should look at these. I guess they’re really spreading in their popularity. But I just haven’t been able to get myself to do it. Maybe now’s the time.

    Like

  15. I don’t want to have anything to do with them. I was totally in denial that they even existed until last Christmas when my brother, knowing what a huge Austen fan I am, gave me a copy of P&P&Z as a present. I don’t think I could disguise the horror on my face when I saw the cover. Disgusting.
    I hid it at the back of my bookshelf for a few weeks and then gave it to the opp shop. I almost felt guilty giving it to them, like it was a really dirty jumper or something else to be ashamed of owning.
    Ugh.
    Now I’ve gone back into denial. They do not exist. La la la.
    X Lisa

    Like

  16. P&P&Z is only the tip of the berg.
    There are published novels about Elizabeth and Darcy’s CHILDREN. I’ve never been brave enough to try them, but my mother has been…
    Need I say more?

    Why, cruel world?

    In any case, I think that most of the Austen-based stuff going on out there is just fanfiction that somehow managed to get through agents and editors, and are targeted towards women [ and some men, I suppose ] who have no appreciation for classic literature so much as they fall in love with the love story. Without understanding it.

    Also, in terms of these new books, for kids who want to shove an FU in their english teacher’s face.

    Sigh.

    Like

  17. I haven’t read any of these, but I have seen another apalling classic lit/paranormal crossover: “Little Vampire Women”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

