Lo and behold–a major plot hole

When I received Val’s edits of chapter 24 & 25 today, I let out a very long sigh and pinched the skin between my brows in frustration. Alas, she pointed out big issues in these two chapters–motivational issues of my heroine. My heroine (Amanda) makes a decision which the following four very important chapters are based on. But my editor isn’t buying the reason/motivation behind Amanda’s decision. And to tell you the truth, I never bought it either–I just left Amanda to make this stupid, callous choice which is not in her character to make, BECAUSE I wanted to keep the following four chapters which revolve around the repurcussions of Amanda’s decision. Have I lost you readers yet? I’m guessing you have no idea what I’m talking about. But bear with me, I need to vent out my frustration some more. So for a long hour I stressed over this. I tried to figure out what to do. In order to make the motivation more believable, I would need to write two or more chapters to convince the readers. But I did NOT feel happy with this idea. The very thought of elaborating in order to convince the readers, had me pulling at my hair. I absolute HATE writing scenes I don’t have my heart set on. So I discussed this with my sister, and I finally decided that I must give up these four chapters, along with the theme I wanted to bring up through it, and do a major rewrite. Luckily I have a lot of materials from scenes I omited from before to use in this rewrite–I’m one of those writers who loves recycling her writings haha. Fortunately for me, the more I think about this new plot, the more I like it. And now I’m excited to work on this change. I sent this alternative plotline for the last eight-ish chapters to Val, and must now wait to hear back from her. I always need her final consensus before making big plot alterations like this, because the story from the writer and reader’s perspective is so different: i.e. I’ll write in a big plothole and won’t even notice it, but a reader will. Get what I mean?

For the writers out there, what was the most stressful, frustrating issue you ever had with your writing?

17 Comments

Filed under The Runaway Courtesan, Writing

17 responses to “Lo and behold–a major plot hole

  1. Right now pacing is the thing I’m worrying about the most. I actually vented about this to my editor earlier via Facebook and will probably vent about this many, many times in the future, but at the moment I’m concerned that everything is moving too fast. I’m trying to keep in mind that the novel is set over the course of a few years and that if I make things too slow it will drag on forever, but finding the right balance is so frustrating.

    Like

    • junebugger

      Ugh, I know what you mean! I had the same problem and nearly bored myself to death writing ‘in-between’ scenes. You can, perhaps, add in a lot of narratives–narratives always slows down the pacing of a story, and I’m sure of this, because readers say to me: “You have too much narrative, it slows down the story.” So yah. Narratives are the easy way out for me when I want to slow the pacing of a story.

      …..but the easy way out isn’t always the best way to do things

      Like

      • I might end up adding a little narrative before I send these next few chapters to my editor, just to make it clearer that a few weeks and months have passed. Oh, the joys of writing…

        Also, I got your review; I just haven’t responded to it yet because I’m still working my way through the reviews I’ve accumulated over the past few months. I’m glad you liked it =)

        Like

      • junebugger

        Do you mean to say you reply to allyour reviews on FP? it’s very thoughtful that you should. I’m sure the readers appreciate it.

        Like

  2. raven

    I hate plot-holes with a passion! It’s the reason why I stopped writing my first historical romance novel. I didn’t know as much as I did now, and most of it was based on movies I’ve seen and books I’ve read.

    The heroine of the story was arranged to marry a guy who didn’t love her and what I didn’t explain was…why he was offering to marry her…a girl that was below him and knowing this, I continued the story anyways, only to ultimately come to a standstill.

    I’ve since then, changed the title and the storyline but I haven’t the heart to rewrite it.

    By the way, how many chapters are in TRC?

    Like

    • junebugger

      There are..hmmm…let me count…aprx. 32 chapters. It’s comrpised of long and super short chapters, so it’s not ‘that’ much.

      Ah, there you go, you had the same problem I’m having now. Motivational issues: what motivated your hero into marrying someone so below him? I’ve come realize, by and by, that if plot holes aren’t fixed up right away, your motivation to finish the story begins to dwindle.

      Like

  3. changered

    Writer’s block makes me wanna’ stab my laptop.
    Thankyou (:

    Like

  4. priscillashay

    Oh, wow. Ok, first off…Definately don’t throw away/delete those four chapters. The could be useful later, either in this novel or another. I don’t like writing chapters my heart isnt set on either, but sometimes you have to do it. Because YOU know exactly what is happening/supposed to happen and you are the writer certain scenes may seem unnecessary. But, sometimes you have to put in a paragraph or even a chapter to clarify.

    But, don’t be disheartened (and no hair pulling!). Write it and see what happens 🙂

    Ironically…the same thing kind of happened to me last night/this morning

    Like

    • junebugger

      you found a plot hole in your story?

      I won’t delete those four chapters. Just omitting from the story. I never completely erase from the computer system anything I write. I still have things from years back that I reuse in my new projects. But ummm….I know I need to write scenes I don’t have my set on–but it’s hard forcing yourself to make the heroine you love do something so stupid. I think it’ll require a whole new book for me to be convinced that she was in character when making that stupid choice

      Like

      • priscillashay

        Yeah, Sophia does that to me sometimes. I stare at the paper thinking, that’s not you, why did you do that? Did I make you do that??

        This is random: But, did you know yours was the first novel I ever read on FP?

        Like

      • junebugger

        wooooow, are you serious? when I reread the original version….well, all I can say I’m not too proud of it lol. But’s it’s been the foundation for the story I have now. It’s funny though how much a story can change through revision. I wonder how WW will change after having it go through several revisions.

        Like

  5. priscillashay

    A lot of changes lol and they’re all swimming in my head.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Writing Is Hard « June H.

Leave a Reply

